Getting A Handle On Impatience

file4061340639362 morgue file (2)

Grrr… Traffic bugs me so much!

All you can change is yourself, but sometimes that changes everything! Gary W. Goldstein (www.verybestquotes.com)

James:1:4 KJV: “But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”  (King James Version, Holy Bible)

According to google search, the definition of patience, is “the capacity to accept or tolerate delay, trouble, or suffering without getting angry or upset.”

I can honestly say, I have not mastered the art of maintaining my patience. Anyone that has been really close to me, will say that patience is not one of my virtues.  I can tell when my patience is reaching the end of it’s rope, when I start: yelling, grumbling, and getting testy during huge amounts of traffic, or in the mist of careless and irresponsible drivers. You know those drivers who keeps crossing the yellow line, because they have to text or talk on the cell phone! Grrr… that bugs me so much! I know I am not the only person! The list can go on and on. There are many situations, things, provoking actions, and provoking people, I have a tendency to loose patience with.

Patience is the one thing, I have to constantly work on, keeping in check. And, a lot of times I fail miserably at the task. So, in my endeavor to improve my patience, I turned to my trusty computer, and went on to google search and pulled up some self-help articles.

There was one article that grabbed my attention the most, it was Four Steps To Developing Patience, 4 Steps to Decrease The Happiness Killer: Impatience, written by Jane Bolton, Psy.D., M.F.T., Zesty Self. I liked the idea that she had brought up that, “Patience needs to be developed, it is a skill, we are not born with patience.”

According to the article, here are the main 4 key steps that were the `meat and potatoes`of the good doctors’ article to pay attention to:
  1. Understand the addictive nature of anger, irritation, outrage

  2. Upgrading our attitude towards discomfort and pain. That Pain has its purposes. It pushes us to find solutions.

  3. Paying attention when the irritation/pain starts.

  4. Self talk


If you don’t know what, `self talk` is. It is best described as, “The main thing here is to just stop the story. And as we get more and more practice attending to that vulnerability inside without fueling it with our story about how wrong it all is, how wrong they are, how wrong we are, the feeling can pass through in mere seconds.”

By following these tips, I feel a bit more equipped in my endeavor of improving on my impatience. I believe, it may take me a life time, to get a handle on my impatience. How about you? What makes you impatient? How would the tips from this article, help you improve your impatience?

2 thoughts on “Getting A Handle On Impatience

  1. kimberlybuck says:

    Traffic for me too. But I began to realize how absolutely angry and nutty I get when drivers do dumb things. I’ve calmed down a lot but still need to work on it too. Overall I’m actually a patient person but traffic makes me a gremlin that eats after midnight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

