The Magnificence of Fall

sam_0449-2

Golden Leaves of Fall

Every year, I look forward to the coming of fall in North Carolina. My favorite part is to see how vibrant the colors are, as the leaves on the trees begin to change, from various shades of green, to gold, brown, and auburn. I am overjoyed as the sweltering heat of summer begins to recede and the coolness of fall begins to take over. It leads the south into a smooth and steady transition into winter.

I have found as a new self-proclaimed photographer, that I am taking some of my best nature photos this fall. Since different varieties of birds begin their fall migration, squirrels stock up acorns for the winter, and other wind animal sightings can happen at anytime. The last pictures of the year; containing cotton, soy bean fields, and the last living proof of our summer garden, must be gotten as proof of a highly productive summer. Before, the south-eastern side of North Carolina begins to change, once again.

Wonderfully, my seasonal menu begins to change. I go from making salads, stir-fry’s, and tacos; all easy to make meals over my stove top. To finally getting a chance, to turn on my oven without feeling as if I am a sauna, to enthusiastically produce: slow cooking soups, roast chicken with all of its yummy fixings, stews, and casseroles. And to the delight of my family, I begin to bake pumpkin and sweet potato breads, cookies, cakes, and pies. The heavenly smells that drift through my kitchen, drives my little gray cat Chester, to the back door of my kitchen begging for food. All of these wonderful, homey moments reminds me that, the holidays are right around the corner.


2016-10-01-08-56-42

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Bread

Featured Above: is a picture of my latest cooking success a filling, delicious, and not bitter gluten-free version of Pumpkin bread. I had gotten this recipe of off the cooking site www.food.com.

I made a few changes, by adding in a few extra ingredients to spruce up the recipe. First, the recipe requires two cups of a gluten-free flour blend, so I made my own blend: by adding 1 cup of white rice flour (that already had xanthan gum and other necessary additives included for baking) and 1 cup of brown rice flour. Second, I added 1/4 cup of finely chopped walnuts to the batter and sprinkled 1 tablespoon of chopped walnuts on top of mixture, before baking. Lastly, I decorated the bread and plate with some fall decorations, for my picture.  

Fall is definitely, a season I look forward to enjoying every year. Making memories, eating good food, taking pictures, and having fun, is my perception on what life is all about. Enjoying these precious moments of fall is another quiver in my arsenal in keeping my hope alive.
Leave a Reply

