Setting Your Mind to Accomplish Greatness

setting-your-mind-quote-by-gillian-anderson-quote-pablo-image-27


Growing up, my mother would always say, “Alisha, you can do anything you set your mind too.”   Whenever I would get upset, complain, speak negatively out of discouragement, feel completly defeated about trying to solve a difficult problem, angry about an unfair circumstance, or was having a complete melt-down. She was amazing that way. That little phrase of encouragement she would repeat to me over and over again. During times of frustration, self-doubt, and aggravation helped guide me in finding my own inner strength, self-confidence, and perseverance.


Now, as I think back on so many lesson’s my mother had taught me while I was growing up. Lessons she taught me directly and indirectly about perseverance has become more precious to me as I get older. My mother was smart, beautiful, intelligent, and an Army Veteran.  After serving honorably in the US army, she went to nursing school, and became an Registered Nurse in the 1970’s. At a time that their wasn’t many African-American nurses graduating from nursing school from the area of Philadelphia she came from.  She remained a highly skilled, compassionate, and knowledgeable nurse in the Cardiac Care Unit for over 20 years. Her life reflected hard work, long hours on her feet, determination, and perseverance.


My mother passed 15 years ago. Whenever life’s struggles tries to get the best of me, I can still hear her quiet, precious, and strong voice in my head; reminding me to persevere and to keep my mind-set on the goal I want to accomplish.


Even though, my mother would only say half of the quote posted above, the message of perseverance for me was the same. Keep reminding your self you can do whatever you set your mind to and be willing to do the hard work it takes to accomplish it. It is that simple. I hope passing on my mother’s lesson of perseverance she had taught me will help encourage, edify, and build you up. To accomplish whatever you set your mind to. Thanks mom…

2 thoughts on “Setting Your Mind to Accomplish Greatness

Leave a Reply

